Allo' Expat Lithuania - Connecting Expats in Lithuania
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Lithuania Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center lithuania
Lithuania General Information
History of lithuania
Lithuania Culture
Lithuania Cuisine
Lithuania Geography
Lithuania Population
Lithuania Government
Lithuania Economy
Lithuania Communications
Lithuania Transportations
Lithuania Military
Lithuania Transnational Issues
Lithuania Healthcare
Lithuania People, Language & Religion
Lithuania Expatriates Handbook
Lithuania and Foreign Government
Lithuania General Listings
Lithuania Useful Tips
Lithuania Education & Medical
Lithuania Travel & Tourism Info
Lithuania Lifestyle & Leisure
Lithuania Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Lithuania Government


Politics of Lithuania takes place in a framework of a parliamentary representative democratic republic, whereby the Prime Minister of Lithuania is the head of government, and of a multi-party system.

The executive branch of the Lithuanian government consists of a president, a prime minister, and the president's Council of Ministers. It is in charge of running the government.

The President of Lithuania is the head of state of the country, elected directly for a five-year term and can serve maximum of two terms consecutively. The president, with the approval of the Parliament (Seimas), is first responsible of appointing the prime minister. Upon the prime minister's nomination, the president also appoints, under the recommendation of the prime minister, the Council of Ministers (13 ministries), as well as a number of other top civil servants and the judges for all courts. The president also serves as the commander-in-chief, oversees foreign and security policy, addresses political problems of foreign and domestic affairs, proclaims state of emergency, considers the laws adopted by the Seimas, and performs other duties specified in the Constitution.

The Prime Minister of Lithuania is the head of government of the country, appointed by the president and approved by the Seimas. The prime minister, within 15 days of being appointed, is responsible for choosing ministers for the president to approve to each of the 13 ministries. In general, the prime minister is in charge of the affairs of the country, maintains homeland security, carries out laws and resolutions of the Seimas and decrees of the president, maintains diplomatic relations with foreign countries and international organisations, and performs other duties specified in the Constitution.

Similar to the cabinet of other nations, the Council of Ministers consists of 13 ministers chosen by the prime minister and appointed by the president. Each minister is responsible for his or her own ministry of the Lithuanian government and must give reports on his or her ministry when directed to. When the prime minister resigns or dies, the position is to be filled as soon as possible and the new leader will appoint a new government.

The Seimas has 141 members that are elected for a 4-year term. About half of the members are elected in single-member districts (71), and the other half (70) are elected in the nationwide vote using proportional representation by party lists. A party must receive at least 5% of the national vote to be represented in the Seimas.

The judges of the Constitutional Court of the Republic of Lithuania (Lietuvos Respublikos Konstitucinis Teismas) for a single nine year term are appointed by the Seimas from the candidates presented by the president (three judges), chairman of Seimas (three judges) and the chairman of the Supreme Court (three judges).


Country name :
conventional long form: Republic of Lithuania
conventional short form: Lithuania
local long form: Lietuvos Respublika
local short form: Lietuva
former: Lithuanian Soviet Socialist Republic

Government type :
parliamentary democracy

Capital :
name: Vilnius
geographic coordinates: 54 41 N, 25 19 E
time difference: UTC+2 (7 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October

See more information on the next page... (next)




copyrights ©
2015 | Policy